Google Maps SDK

Unfortunately I read this in the Terms Agreement of Google Maps:

10.9You must not use the Service or Content with any products, systems, or applications for or in connection with:
(a) real time navigation or route guidance, including but not limited to turn-by-turn route guidance that is synchronized to the position of a user’s sensor-enabled device;

This is exactly what we want to provide, a turn-by-turn navigation from the location of the volunteer to the AED or Victim.
So I had to drop the Google Maps SDK, I could use it only to show the AED locations but for consistency I am dropping the whole thing. All that work for nothing.

So I started with Apple Maps. I already have the route shown to the map and I think the map follows the user, however I will have to check that in real life. I still have to redo the AED locations on the map and showing the text directions.

2 responses to “Google Maps SDK”

  1. Gonzalo Parra (@gaposx) says :

    Could you post the link where you found it?

    • michelschevernels says :

      I was searching how to move the map in the direction of travel, many other users were also interested in this but got a response it wasn’t allowed with the link to the agreement. I looked it up in the Google API terms agreement and indeed it isn’t allowed:
      https://developers.google.com/maps/iphone/terms
      But I did it now with Apple Maps. And it’s even better then Google Maps. With Google Maps you just get the coordinates where you have to change you’re path (head left into street) but doesn’t give any more indication. While Apple Maps gives the streets and says turn left into street x. Which is very handy for the textual route guidance. Also it gives the route distance.which is pretty handy as well.

Geef een reactie

