The idea was that I would finish the GUI design before the exams, unfortunately due to many other deadlines I didn’t quite finish it. Now I have finished it, I also examined it with test subjects. But I didn’t get much more feedback then last time. I wanted to test on my iPad, instead of the simulator, but due to a glitch I wasn’t able to. This will be fixed next week during my meeting with my advisor. I am also looking into JSON now, I hope before the meeting I will have successfully pull data from the REST server. I have some example code, and I also want to work with synchronized objects. But that part I have still to figure out how that exactly works. But normally this should be dealt with before the meeting on Thursday. After that we can hopefully start with the important stuff.

The things that yet have to be done:
-Testing the application in the field: Does it all work (does the GPS move with my position)
-Pushing messages to the devices
-Updating users GPS location
-Decision system, who will get a notification
-Making the application run in the background, making sure iOS doesn’t shutdown the application

Below you will find the screenshot of the direction text view. The results of the GUI testing will follow.

directions

4 responses to “”

  1. gertvanwijn says :

    My iPhone and iPad are also included in the Developer Account of the HCI-group, so if you want to you could put your app on both my devices and I’ll test it for you in the field?

    Running an application in the background can only be done if you have one of these tasks (https://developer.apple.com/library/ios/documentation/iphone/conceptual/iphoneosprogrammingguide/ManagingYourApplicationsFlow/ManagingYourApplicationsFlow.html)
    But why do you need your app to run in the background? A notification can be pushed even when the app is closed or do you need to do more?

    • michelschevernels says :

      Thanks but I have an iPad of my own that is configured to use for testing and I can borrow two iPhones from the department for testing, which I will be doing soon.
      Why I want to run in the background is for tracking the users.
      I want them to push their location, so I can sent notifications only to the users nearby.

      • gertvanwijn says :

        This does the trick for me:

        – (void) viewDidLoad{
        self.locationManager = [[CLLocationManager alloc] init];
        self.locationManager.desiredAccuracy = kCLLocationAccuracyBest;
        self.locationManager.delegate = self;
        self.locationManager.distanceFilter = kCLDistanceFilterNone;
        }

        – (void)locationManager:(CLLocationManager *)manager
        didUpdateToLocation:(CLLocation *)newLocation
        fromLocation:(CLLocation *)oldLocation
        {
        if (UIApplication.sharedApplication.applicationState == UIApplicationStateActive)
        {

        }
        else
        {

        }
        }

        But what you also can do, is checking the location when the push notification comes in and then determining whether the user should be notified or not. A lot less battery needed and the app should not open at all times. Because the location updates only work when the app is in the background, not when the app is closed

  2. michelschevernels says :

    I have been thinking about that aswell.
    But is it possible to capture the push notification before it is displayed to the user and decide to display it or not?
    Because I read this tutorial:
    http://www.raywenderlich.com/32960/apple-push-notification-services-in-ios-6-tutorial-part-1
    And it says:
    And when an event of interest occurs, the server-side component can send the app a push notification! There are three things a push notification can do:
    Display a short text message
    Play a brief sound
    Set a number in a badge on the app’s icon.
    So I dont’t really know if that is possible, but I will look into that some more.
    But if you know how I would like to hear about it because indeed that would be better!

Geef een reactie

