Difficulties

Again I had to deal with some difficulties, hereby my progress isn’t as great as I had hoped. First deploying the war file of my web service on the department’s servers, was not that easy. Apparently there are some subtle differences between a Glassfish web service and a Tomcat web service. The code was exactly the same but the project looked a little different. It took me a little while to figure this out though. Also if the new war is deployed, it will be fingers crossed the PushServer does what it supposed to do. Because on Windows machines it runs without Errors, however it doesn’t really send anything, on Mac the same code does send the push notifications. So let’s hope on Linux servers it works as well!

The application is almost finished. The routing map does refresh the route every 10 seconds. So choosing a different route doesn’t pose a problem, the poly line on which you travel will also be removed and refreshed every 10 seconds. I wanted to just refresh the route when you deviate from the path and just update the polyline every couple of seconds. But I haven’t found a way to do this. To check if you deviated from the path and that to draw the polyline between your current position and the destination and not for the entire route. Maybe I’ll check up on this later on, but for now this will have to do. It isn’t optimal but it works, it just recalculates the route more than it really has to.

The application does something weird when receiving notifications, when you press the notification you can catch the notification in didFinishLaunchingWithOptions. However when you open the application not by clicking the notification but the app icon the launchOptions are nil. So it’s like you haven’t received a notification at all! You could catch this, by checking if you have badge, and asking the web service if a notification was send to you. Now before I program this extra functionality, which will produce new backend functionality, stored procedure, new functions for the web service, I want to test it on a real iPhone. It’s not very hard to implement this, but I will not do this unless it proves to be necessary.

Tomorrow I will start testing the application myself: the notification part and the navigation part. I also will start writing now. I am glad the programming part is almost over, and I can start writing. What I don’t look forward to is the debugging part. So fingers crossed that everything works from the first go!

Plaats een reactie